Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary - FAQ


Will I be able to make arrests?
Each Auxiliary State Trooper is trained in the proper techniques for taking offenders into custody. You will be authorized to make an arrest, however, you will need the approval from a full time trooper or supervisor to do so.

When can I drive a police vehicle?
Once you are sworn in as an Auxiliary State Trooper, you will ride with a full time Trooper in his or her vehicle for approximately one year. During that time, you may then take a defensive driving class and the LSP (Limited Scope Patrol) class. A field training officer will then ride with you and confirm your ability to operate a State owned police vehicle. Once you have completed this training, you will be considered a "Level Three" Auxiliary Trooper. You will be authorized to drive a police vehicle to assist motorists on the freeway and identify abandoned vehicles.

Where and when will I receive my training?
Since many of our applicants are employed full time, we make every effort to offer classes in the evening or on weekends. Each Auxiliary State Trooper must meet standards set by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) for recertification. Many of these classes are offered during the year in your unit. If you fail to remain certified, you will not be allowed to continue as a Trooper.

How much time must I put in each year?
You are required to volunteer 24 hours per quarter or 8 hours each month. Very few Troopers, if any, put in the minimum hours. There are many opportunities to participate in special details and enforcement activities so it isn't difficult to participate and meet the minimum requirement. You likely joined the Florida Highway Patrol as an Auxiliary Trooper because you have an genuine interest in police work. Most Troopers want to "get out" and ride with a full time trooper or work the details.